11 Great Books Like The Alchemist


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we make a small commission at no extra cost to you.


If you ever do a search for the most recommended travel books or stories that inspired people, then chances are that The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho will come up. It’s a book that undoubtedly divides readers with many people I know having strong opinions one way or another about it. For the readers that enjoy it, however, it’s short length means that they are almost instantly searching for more books like The Alchemist.

If you’re not familiar with the story, it follows the life of a young shepherd named Santiago from Southern Spain who has a dream that is interpreted as meaning that great treasure awaits him at the pyramids in Egypt.

He then sets off on a journey through northern Africa to find the treasure. Coelho’s writing style is known for its strong philosophical elements and people who enjoy the story tend to be drawn to it either for that reason or for the travelling aspects of the book.

So if you’ve recently finished The Alchemist and are on the hunt for similar books, here are some recommendations that will hopefully lead you to your next read!

11 Books Like The Alchemist

The Pilgrimage, by Paulo Coelho

While Paulo Coelho has written many books over the years, it’s hard to go past The Pilgrimage if you’re looking for books similar to The Alchemist.

It follows the true story of how Coelho walked the Camino de Santiago in Spain as part of an initiation process to a Catholic sect.

Like many books that are written about people undertaking long walks, the story is a mix of the travel aspects and the physical and mental challenges that come with it along with the process of self-discovery that occurs when you undertake such a challenge.

The Pilgrimage also has a large focus on meditation and spiritual-religious teachings that can either appeal or be a deterrent for readers. Regardless, it is a good choice if you want to read more of Coelho’s works and enjoyed The Alchemist.

books like the alchemist

Shantaram, by Gregory David Roberts

Chances are that if you first read The Alchemist because you found it on a list of travel book recommendations, then if you keep scrolling you will likely also see Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts included on the same list.

It is one of the most popular books to read for travellers in India, however, is a fantastic read even if you have never been and don’t plan to travel to the subcontinent.

It follows the story of Lin, a convicted felon from Australia who flees to India after escaping from jail. The story is a collection of his experiences as a foreigner in India and showcases what life is like through his interactions with several characters from all walks of life.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Shantaram is a fictional story that is based on some real-life experiences of Roberts. It is a great option if you’re looking for more books like The Alchemist as it expertly combines an intriguing travel story with a number of philosophical writings and teachings.

If you’ve already read Shantaram or want more recommendations, make sure to check out our list of more books like Shantaram.

books like the alchemist

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari, by Robin Sharma

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari by Robin Sharma, is another story that combines travel with philosophical teachings though in a much more direct manner compared to The Alchemist.

It tells the story of Julian who was a high-profile lawyer who, after having a heart attack, decides to leave his career and search for more meaning in his life. The story is told through the eyes of Julians’ former colleague John whom Julian approaches after coming back from travelling and living with monks in the Himalayas.

The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari is based on Sharma’s real-life experiences of leaving his career as a lawyer and is a great choice if you’re looking for more books like The Alchemist that combines some interesting travel anecdotes with more practical philosophical teachings.

The Kite Runner, by Khaled Hosseini

While The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini is not explicitly a travel story nor does it contain philosophical teachings, the writing style shares a lot of similarities Coehlo making it a great choice if you’re looking for more books like The Alchemist.

The Kite Runner begins by telling the story of two Afghan boys, Amir and Hassan, who are friends but from different ethnic tribes growing up in the 1970s.

Following an incident, their relationship begins to deteriorate and the Soviet invasion in 1979 causes Amir’s family to leave the country and eventually immigrate to the USA. A couple of decades later, events cause Amir to be drawn back to his former life in Afghanistan.

Readers will undoubtedly enjoy Hosseini’s writing style if they’re fans of The Alchemist and the story is undoubtedly a gripping read that provides insight into the history of Afghanistan and the challenges that immigrants had to adjust to life in the USA.

If you’ve previously read The Kite Runner or Hosseini’s other best selling book A Thousand Splendid Suns, make sure to check out recommendations for more books like them.

books like the alchemist

Life of Pi, by Yann Martel

Winner of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction following its release, Life of Pi by Yann Martel is an excellent choice for readers looking for similar books like The Alchemist.

It tells the story of a young boy named Pi, whose father owns a zoo in India. His father decides to immigrate to Canada and they board a ship with the animals from the zoo onboard that shipwrecks before arriving.

Pi manages to survive by getting on a small lifeboat but finds himself sharing the boat with some of the animals that his father was transporting. The story then follows Pi’s experiences on the lifeboat and how he strives to survive.

Life of Pi was made into an award-winning film by Ang Lee in 2012 and is a great choice for fans of The Alchemist as it explores many similar themes as well as having strong philosophical elements in Martel’s writing style.

Already read this book? Check out our list of more books like Life of Pi!

books like the alchemist

Into the Wild, by Jon Krakauer

If you’re after another tale about a man that is compelled to go on a journey and leave his former life behind then Jon Krakauer’s Into The Wild is a must-read.

It follows the true story of Christopher McCandless, a college graduate in the US who, after finishing school, decides to give his life savings to charity and travel across the country. With the eventual aim to get to Alaska and live off the land, the book follows McCandless’ adventures and the people he meets on the road.

Krakauer’s writing focuses not only on the protagonist but also on the impact that his travelling had on his family. Made into a motion picture in 2007 that was directed by Sean Penn, Into the Wild is a fantastic choice if you’re looking for more books like the Alchemist.

If you’ve already read Krakauer’s book, make sure to check out our list of other books like Into the Wild for even more recommendations!

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, by Robert M. Pirsig

If you’re looking for books similar to The Alchemist because you want a book that combines a travel story with long philosophical interludes then Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance by Robert M. Pirsig fits the bill perfectly.

Written as a fictional autobiography, it tells the story of how Pirsig took a motorcycle trip with his son during one summer. While retelling the story of their trip, Pirsig interjects with details about how they fixed their motorcycle on their journey which warps into long philosophical discussions about a range of life’s big topics.

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance undoubtedly has a stronger focus on the philosophy than the travel aspects compared to other books on this list which makes it a fantastic choice if that is what you most enjoyed when reading The Alchemist.

Wild, by Cheryl Strayed

If you prefer your next read to have a greater focus on travel and the trials and tribulations of undertaking a long walk, then Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed is an excellent choice.

It is the true story of how Strayed decides to walk the Pacific Crest Trail solo after a period of drug abuse that followed the death of her mother.

Wild is wonderfully written as it flashes between what life is like on the trail and the physical and mental challenges of taking a long walk and her previous life before beginning the walk which ultimately led to her following this path.

While not as strong on the philosophy as some of the other books on this list, there is still elements of spirituality in Strayed’s journey which will appeal to fans of The Alchemist along with it simply being a fantastic travel story. Wild was also made into a film in 2014 starring Reese Witherspoon.

If you want more book recommendations, make sure to check out our list of books like Wild by Cheryl Strayed.

Siddhartha, by Hermann Hesse

Going back to books with a large philosophical element, Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse is a classic novel in this space that will likely appeal to readers who are looking for more books like The Alchemist.

First written in 1922, it tells the story of a wealthy Indian who gives up his material possessions in a quest for spiritual enlightenment and knowledge. He meets many different people on his journey that teach him unique lessons leading to his own personal growth.

Siddhartha is another short read that touches on many of the same themes as The Alchemist making is a great choice for your next read after Coelho’s classic.

The Little Prince, by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

If you enjoyed The Alchemist because of it’s fable-like elements and allegorical themes, then you can’t go wrong with adding The Little Prince to your reading list.

It follows the story of the narrator who after crashing his plane in the Sahara Desert meets the Little Prince who comes to Earth and shares the stories of his travels across the universe. Each encounter that the Little Prince has on each planet is with a narrow-minded adult that teaches him about different aspects of human nature.

Originally published in 1943, it is still poignant today and a great choice for readers looking for similar books to The Alchemist. Considered to be one of the greatest works on modern French literature, if you’re a fan of Coelho’s philosophical novel, you are sure to love the lessons to be learned in The Little Prince, as well.

Already read this book? Check out our list of more books like The Little Prince!

One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

As one of the best-selling Spanish language books of all time, One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel Garcia Marquez is another great option for those that enjoyed all the philosophical goodness of The Alchemist.

It tells the story of seven generations of the Buendia family and their life in a town in Colombia. It examines the major life events of family members in a cerebral magical realism style that allows the engaging prose to explore themes such as elitism, the fluidity of time and, of course, solitude.

If you’re interested in reading books similar to The Alchemist that are also written by South American authors, then this book is a fantastic option. Oft-considered to be Marquez’s magnum opus, One Hundred Years of Solitude touches on the same philosophical and allegorical themes found in Coelho’s novel and is sure to open your mind to a unique literary style.

The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho is undoubtedly a favourite for many lovers of travel and philosophical books. If you’re after more books like The Alchemist, these nine recommendations are definitely just a few of the many books that share similarities with it.

Are you looking for books similar to The Alchemist? Do you have recommendations that didn’t make this list? Let us know in the comments below!

Like It? Pin It!

Michael

Michael is the co-founder and writer of Books Like This One, a website helping you find more books to read! He loves reading non-fiction, travel and business books.

Leave a Comment