10 Moving Books like Tomorrow & Tomorrow & Tomorrow


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we may make a small commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our privacy policy.


Books like Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow contain flawed yet loveable characters because of their relatability. The novel is written by bestselling author Gabrielle Zevin and is considered a multi-layered, brilliant novel of love, friendship and everything in between.

Such as human life is, Zevin provides readers with a raw, complex and messy story surrounding the characters of Sam and Sadie. Meeting when they are young, the two bond over their shared love of video games.

The book spans a friendship lasting almost thirty years and follows the immense highs and devastating lows of their lives.

With alternating point-of-view chapters, we get to see the complicated relationships and multidimensional characters as well as be introduced to a fun story.

If you have, however, already picked up this novel and loved it, you may be looking for something similar to invest in next. If that is the case then keep reading on for my recommendations!

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow: A novel

10 Books like Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow

One Day in December, by Josie Silver

Similar to Zevin’s novel, One Day in December is told throughout ten years of heartbreak, joy and fated meetings. 

When Laurie sees a man through a fogged-up window at a bus stop one winter day in December, she is suddenly convinced in the idea of love at first sight. The moment her eyes meet his, she knows he is the one.

But then her bus drives away and she doesn’t see him again.

Despite searching the streets of London for him, it is only when her best friend Sarah introduces her new boyfriend to Laurie that she sees him again. Jack is her one true love… and Sarah’s new boyfriend.

What follows over the next ten years is loss and love, opportunities taken and missed. This heart-warming story like Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow is perfect for the holidays. 

Already read this novel? Check out our list of books similar to One Day in December!

One Day in December: A Novel

Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell

Set in 1986, we meet Eleanor and Park. Rowell tells the story of the two misfits who fall in love over a year at school and understand young love like theirs rarely lasts but are hopeful enough to try and make it work.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Eleanor and Park, with its warmth and heartache and beauty, will have readers reliving their first all-encompassing first crush kind of love.

A story of how one person can touch your heart and leave you changed forever, this is the perfect book for readers to pick up next!

Already read this novel? Check out our list of books to read after Eleanor and Park!

Eleanor & Park

Lessons in Chemistry, by Bonnie Garmus

Elizabeth Zott is a chemist in the early 1960s working with an all-male team at Hastings Research Institute where the men she works with have a less than favourable view on gender equality.

That is, apart from Calvin Evans. What they have is true love, at least that is what she believed until a few years down the line she is a single mother.

Now the star of America’s favourite cooking show for her unusual scientific approach to cooking, her following continues to grow. But she’s not just teaching women how to cook, she’s teaching them to stand up for themselves and believe in an equal nation.

A hilarious and poignant book, Lessons in Chemistry is about a woman in STEM fighting the status quo in a male-dominated world.

Already read this novel? Check out our list of books to read after Lessons in Chemistry!

Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Evelyn Hugo has lived a wonderous and scandalous life throughout the years. Now she is older and keeps to herself, she is ready to tell the truth about her past.

Choosing Monique Grant – a relatively unknown magazine reporter – to be the one to report her truth, no one is more surprised than the writer herself. Things aren’t going so great for her in either her personal or professional life and this opportunity could kickstart her career.

As she is summoned to the luxury apartment Evelyn lives in, Monique listens as she tells her story of her show business life and the seven husbands she married as the years go by.

A story that spans the years, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a great next read for those nursing their Zevin hangover.

Already read this novel? Check out our list of books similar to The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo!

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel

Remarkably Bright Creatures, by Shelby Van Pelt

Remarkably Bright Creatures is a perfect book that explores friendship, love and family.

Tova Sullivan is alone. Her son disappeared thirty years ago at eighteen on a boat in Puget Sound and her husband has just passed. To keep busy, she begins to work night shifts at Sowell Bay Aquarium where she forms a deep connection with a giant Pacific octopus named Marcellus.

People are always peering at Marcellus but he truly watches them. After finding friendship with Tova, he uses his incredible deducing skills to figure out what happened the night her son disappeared.

Now he must try to figure out a way to relay the truth to her before it is too late.

This story shows how a delve into one’s past can uncover the truth and lead to a future once unseen.

Already read this book? Check out our list of more books to read after Remarkably Bright Creatures!

Remarkably Bright Creatures: A Read with Jenna Pick

The No-Show, by Beth O’Leary

In The No-Show, we follow multiple characters’ points of view as they navigate their personal and love lives. When three girls get stood up on Valentine’s Day, everything begins to change for them.

Siobhan is a busy life coach who has a quick temper and knows her worth. Miranda is a tree surgeon working alongside a bunch of rough-and-tumble boys all day. Jane is a shy charity shop volunteer who is running from her past and her own thoughts.

All of them have been stood up by the same man but once they forgive him and let him back into their lives, the truth about this man begins to untangle itself leaving them all irrevocably changed.

The No-Show

Normal People, by Sally Rooney

A realistic and poignant story of love through the years, Normal People by Sally Rooney is loved by many. If you haven’t already read this book, then now is your chance to pick it up.

Marianne and Connell are total opposites at school. He’s the popular footballer and she’s the lonely and secretive girl.

But then the two meet outside of the school’s gates when Connell picks his mum up from her housekeeping gig at Marianne’s home and a relationship so intimate and precious begins that they are determined to hide.

Already read this novel? Check out our list of books similar to Normal People!

Normal People: A Novel

A Little Life, by Hanya Yanagihara

Four classmates make the daring move to live in New York despite their financial restrictions, held above water by their enthusiasm and friendship.

A queer novel that stretches across the years, we follow Willem, JB, Malcolm and Jude from their huge successes to their lowest of lows.

As the decades pass, they realise the biggest challenge they will face is Jude himself whose awful childhood and the trauma that ensued leaves him a broken man unable to face his past and terrified to step into the future.

A dark story of the bitterness life can deal is a contrast to Zevin’s uplifting novel but is similar in how it shows friendship through the ages and love in every form. A Little Life is a bleak yet fascinating read.

Already read this book? Check out our list of books to read after A Little Life!

A Little Life

Just Haven’t Met You Yet, by Sophie Cousens

Just Haven’t Met You Yet is a contemporary romance is an uplifting book that readers will enjoy.

Laura’s business trip to the Channel Islands doesn’t have the best start when she accidentally picks up the wrong suitcase at the airport. But upon opening the thing and seeing her favourite book, piano music and a fisherman-esque sweater, she is a hundred per cent sure this man is her one true love.

It seems all too fated as she lands on the island her parents fell in love and were there to write an article about exactly that – their epic love story. She convinces a cab driver, Ted, to take her around the island to try and track down the suitcase owner to find her happy ending.

But as the feat becomes less and less likely, she has to reconsider that love isn’t always what is seems on paper and what she is looking for is right in front of her.

Just Haven't Met You Yet

Hello Beautiful, by Ann Napolitano

A profound story of family and choosing to love a person despite their flaws, Hello Beautiful is a layered and riveting book.

William Waters grew up in a household that couldn’t even look at him let alone tolerate his presence.

So when he scores a scholarship to a college far from his home, it’s a relief. Then he meets Julia Padavano who loves him despite the quiet disposition that usually turns people away from him.

When she brings him into her family home, he meets her parents and her three sisters who she is inseparable from: Sylvie, Cecelia and Emeline.

But when William’s dark past catches up with him, it shakes the foundations of not only the pair’s relationship but Julia’s entire family causing a catastrophic rift.

Can they come back together despite everything?

Hello Beautiful (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel

These books are moving and enthralling mainly because of their connections to our real-life world and the real-life emotions the characters and stories reflect. I hope you found a book you’d like to read in this list!

Are you looking for more books similar to Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!
Avatar photo

Charlotte is a writer for Books Like This One. She studied drama and writing for performance and enjoys reading romance, literary fiction and young adult novels. Some of her favourite authors include Donna Tartt and Leigh Bardugo. Read more from Charlotte

Leave a Comment