10 Lovely Books Like Lessons in Chemistry by Bonnie Garmus


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we may make a small commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our privacy policy.


After finishing the novel, many readers are eagerly looking for more books like Lessons in Chemistry. A bestselling book by Bonnie Garmus, it has now become a television drama adaptation that recently hit viewers’ screens.

 The novel follows Elizabeth Zott, a chemist working in the early 1960s amongst a predominantly male team at the Hastings Research Institute. Unfortunately, their adverse view on gender equality makes working with them tougher with every day. There is one exception: Calvin Evans.

What they have is true love and respect. At least, that is what Elizabeth believes until a few years later she finds herself a single mother. Working now as the star of the USA’s most beloved cooking show, she teaches women across the country not only to cook but to be strong and smart.

Her insistence on taking control of her own career and standing up for what she believes in inspires women across the country to do the same whereas the men she works with have a less than favourable view on gender equality.

Lessons in Chemistry is a humorous and important story about creating an equal nation little by little, this is a must-read. If you have already picked this one up and devoured it, here are ten more books like it that will leave you swooning!

Lessons in Chemistry: A Novel

10 Books like Lessons in Chemistry

Love on the Brain, by Ali Hazelwood

If you enjoyed Lessons in Chemistry for its representation of women in STEM, then you’ll adore Ali Hazelwood’s works, especially Love is on the Brain.

Bee is a neuroscientist and when NASA offers her the job of a lifetime, she has to take it. Even if that means working (and co-leading!) with her grad school nemesis, Levi Ward. Despite his tall and handsome appearance, he made his feelings towards Bee extremely clear back in school.

But things begin to go haywire when her equipment begins to mysteriously disappear and other staff members start to ignore her.

At first, she believes it may be Levi’s work but when he begins backing her up and acting like her ally, she isn’t so sure. Especially when he looks at her like that.

Love on the Brain

Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow, by Gabrielle Zevin

A brilliant and thought-provoking novel about love, friendship and the ups and downs of these relationships, Tomorrow and Tomorrow and Tomorrow is a novel by bestselling author Gabrielle Zevin perfect for readers looking for something similar to Lessons in Chemistry.

Sam and Sadie form a deep connection after discovering their mutual love of video games as youngsters. Spanning a thirty-year timeline, we see the pair go through thick and thin as they navigate their careers, relationships and friendships.

These characters are loved for their relatability and the rawness that Zevin puts into the story.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Have you already read this novel? Check out our list of books similar to Tomorrow & Tomorrow & Tomorrow!

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow: A novel

Romantic Comedy, by Curtis Sittenfeld

Romantic Comedy follows Sally Milz, a sketch writer for a live late-night comedy show who swears love isn’t for her. That is until Noah Brewster, a handsome pop star, stars as the show’s next host.

The pair hit it off and collaborate on sketch after sketch. But as someone who’s supposedly only ever dated models, Sally can’t help but doubt any feelings Noah may have.

But sparks are flying and sometimes, life really can be as good as the movies. Try picking up Romantic Comedy today!

Romantic Comedy (Reese's Book Club): A Novel

The Personal Librarian, by Marie Benedict and Victoria Christopher Murray

The Personal Librarian is the story of a woman who must hide her African-American roots to preserve her constructed white identity to continue to exist in the racist world she lives in.

Belle da Costa Greene gets a job for JP Morgan in order to curate a collection of rare artworks and books for his new library. From this, she becomes a powerful, intelligent woman in society.

But she has a secret.

Her real name is Belle Marion Greener and is the daughter of Richard Greener Her father was the first Black graduate of Harvard and was a renowned advocate for equality.

This is a story based on real-life events that fans of Lessons of Chemistry will love!

The Personal Librarian: A GMA Book Club Pick (A Novel)

Carrie Soto is Back, by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Carrie Soto is Back from retirement. When she retired from her tennis career six years ago, Carrie Soto was the best player in the world and smashed every record and claimed every title you could think of.

But when only six years after she ended her career, a British player steals her record, she makes the decision to get back in the game for one last year to reclaim her title.

Even if she is older now, and her body isn’t in its prime any more, she will train with her father and give it her all to prove herself. She’ll do it even if she must train with Bowe Huntley, the man she almost gave her heart to.

If you like Lessons in Chemistry, you’ll love this book about another woman who wants to prove her greatness in her chosen career.

Carrie Soto Is Back: A Novel

Demon Copperhead, by Barbara Kingsolver

Inspired by Charles Dickens’ David Copperfield, Demon Copperhead is a wonderful story that translates Dickens’ anger and compassion about institutionalised poverty and the effect it has on society’s children to the modern day, where the issue still exists.

We meet Demon, a boy born to an addict teenage mother, an abusive stepfather and who endures suffering under a corrupt foster care system in the southern Appalachian Mountains.

An immersive story with a poignant message that readers of Lessons in Chemistry will appreciate.

Demon Copperhead: A Pulitzer Prize Winner

Yellowface, by R. F. Kuang

In Yellowface, June Hayward makes a daring move when Athena Liu, a literary genius, dies in an unexpected accident.

Stealing the author’s unpublished manuscript to publish as her own work under the pen name Juniper Son, her success is instantaneous. But there is evidence that threatens to unravel everything she’s done and reveal her crimes.

What is June to do?

This engrossing novel is perfect for fans of Lessons in Chemistry. Dealing with topics such as diversity, racism and cultural appropriation, this is a fabulous book to pick up next time you pop into a bookshop!

Yellowface: A Reese's Book Club Pick

Mad Honey, by Jodi Picoult and Jennifer Finney Boylan

A suspense-filled novel of love and the secrets we keep, for better or for worse, Mad Honey is a book similar to Lessons in Chemistry that every reader will love.

Olivia had a picture-perfect life until her husband revealed a dark secret. Now, she’s re-starting her life back in her hometown and taking over her father’s beekeeping business whilst her son, Ash, is starting at the high school in town.

Lily is the new girl in town and when she meets Ash, she instantly falls in love. She’s the happiest she’s ever been but she can’t help but feel Ash is hiding something. Then suddenly, Olivia receives a call saying Lily is dead and Ash is the prime suspect.

At first, she is certain her son is innocent. But as more of his father’s traits begin appearing, Olivia can’t help but doubt her initial claims. Ash has hidden more than she could ever imagine from her.

Mad Honey: A Novel

Remarkably Bright Creatures, by Shelby Van Pelt

If you loved Lessons in Chemistry, then Remarkably Bright Creatures will be right up your street.

A poignant and heartfelt story between a woman and an octopus, this novel explores friendship that knows no bounds.

Tova Sullivan’s husband has passed away and since her son went missing thirty years ago when he was a fresh eighteen-year-old boy, she was alone. To keep her mind away from the isolation she faces on the daily, she picks up a job working night shifts at Sowell Bay Aquarium.

It is in the middle of the night that she forms a special relationship with the resident giant Octopus named Marcellus. Using his incredible mind and deductive skills, Marcellus figures out what happened to Tova’s son.

The octopus must find a way to relay his discovery to Tov before everything falls apart.

Already read this book? Check out our list of more books like Remarkably Bright Creatures!

Remarkably Bright Creatures: A Read with Jenna Pick

Hello Beautiful, by Ann Napolitano

William Waters meets Julia Padavano at college.

After a childhood filled with a lack of love or compassion, falling in love with the radiant girl after scoring a scholarship to school is everything William could ask for. Along with Julia’s company, he is ushered into her family home where he meets her parents and three sisters: Sylvie, Cecelia and Emeline.

All four sisters are inseparable. But William has a hidden dark past that threatens the life he has built for himself. When it finally catches up to him, not only their relationship but the entire family is at risk of falling apart.

A story of love in all its forms, Hello Beautiful is a great book for those looking for their next five-star read.

Hello Beautiful (Oprah's Book Club): A Novel

Books like Lessons in Chemistry are stories about strong and smart women who know what they want and will stand up for it time and time again. Hopefully, you found something that tickles your fancy in this list of ten books!

Are you looking for more reads similar to Lessons in Chemistry? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!
Avatar photo

Charlotte is a writer for Books Like This One. She studied drama and writing for performance and enjoys reading romance, literary fiction and young adult novels. Some of her favourite authors include Donna Tartt and Leigh Bardugo. Read more from Charlotte

Leave a Comment