10 Exciting Books Like Truly Devious


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we make a small commission at no extra cost to you. For more information, see our privacy policy.


Are you looking for more books like Truly Devious?

Truly Devious is the first book in a young adult mystery thriller by Maureen Johnson. Set in a boarding school for gifted students named Ellingham Academy, we meet the newest student, Stevie Bell.

Stevie is a true crime fanatic, and her obsession becomes the centre of her education. Ellingham Academy is the perfect school for Stevie to pursue her dreams as it was the setting for one of the most famous unsolved kidnapping and murder of the school’s founding family in the 1930s. Furthermore, Stevie’s arrival is emphasized by a current-day murder mystery.

Distrustful of everyone around her, Stevie is determined to discover the truth of both mysteries, past and present whilst navigating the uncertainties of teenage life.

For those of you who have already read and loved Truly Devious, I have put together a list of ten other similar books for you to enjoy! Keep reading to find more thrilling mysteries to dive into.

10 Books like Truly Devious

A Study in Charlotte, by Brittany Cavallaro

A Study in Charlotte is a Sherlock Holmes retelling and adaption. The book centres around Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson, their namesakes’ descendants from their first meeting when Jamie enrolls at Sherringford school.

Despite the closeness of their forefathers, Jamie and Charlotte have never met until they find themself enrolled at the same school. Charlotte is much like Sherlock Holmes with her genius and quick-wittedness and Jamie finds himself drawn toward her again and again.

So, when a student dies under suspicious circumstances and the pair are framed for murder, they must trust one another and work together to prove their innocence. Whilst navigating a dark and treacherous world, the two find solace and companionship in each other.

A story of friendship and romance, A Study in Charlotte full of plot twists and shocks is the perfect book like Truly Devious.

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder, by Holly Jackson

With an engrossing murder mystery as its main plot point, a book similar to Truly Devious is Holly Jackson’s A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. In a small town, there are no secrets… or so people think.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Five years ago, Sal Singh murdered young schoolgirl Andie Bell. Everyone in the town is convinced Sal is guilty, even the police.

Pippa Fitz-Amboi has never been as certain as those around her so when she chooses the topic for her final year project, she begins to uncover secrets that someone in the town wants to stay hidden.

With Sal Singh wrongfully imprisoned and the true killer still on the loose, Pippa has to be careful before she enters an early grave as well. Having murdered before, how far will the killer go to keep their identity a secret?

Already read this book? Check out our list of more books like A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder!

Two Can Keep a Secret, by Karen M. McManus

Two Can Keep a Secret is an obvious recommendation for books similar to Truly Devious.

Echo Ridge is a well-known town but not for the best reasons. Ellery’s aunt disappeared there when she was seventeen and more recently, a young girl named homecoming queen was murdered.

Now, Ellery and her twin brother are moving to Echo Ridge with a grandmother they don’t really know. Upon their arrival, they find the body of a victim of a hit and run but this marks only the beginning. To make matters worse, a threat is made against this year’s homecoming and suddenly another girl goes missing.

With three unsolved crimes, Echo Ridge is a town full of secrets and someone wants to keep it that way. After all, two can keep a secret if one of them is dead.

The Inheritance Games, by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

In The Inheritance Games, all Avery Grambs wants to do is work hard, get into a good school and leave behind the sore excuse of a life she lives. Orphaned and alone, Avery knows this is the best she can do with the cards dealt to her.

That is until a billionaire stranger leaves his entire fortune to Avery in his will.

There are conditions set out in Tobias Hawthorne’s will which Avery must follow in order to gain access to the fortune, including living in the Hawthorne family manor for a year and allowing his disinherited family to reside there with her.

Full of secret passages and hidden rooms, Avery is certain this is all part of a bigger plot that Tobias is conducting from beyond the grave. Dealing with both the media and the Hawthorne family, Avery must play this game carefully if she hopes to live.

Pick up this book like Truly Devious for your next thrilling read!

Already read this book? Check out our list of more books like The Inheritance Games!

Verity, by Colleen Hoover

In Verity, Lowen Ashleigh is given the opportunity of a lifetime when she is asked to complete bestselling author Verity Crawford’s books after an injury leaves her unable to complete them herself.

Upon arriving at the Crawford home, Lowen is greeted by Verity’s husband, Jeremy. Prepared to comb through pages of unfinished manuscripts, Lowen is surprised to find an unfinished autobiography that details the true events of what occurred the day the Crawford’s daughter died.

Lowen keeps this a secret from the grieving Jeremy, afraid he will never look at his wife the same way. Repressing her growing feelings for Verity’s husband, Lowen knows the words written on the page can never be seen by others.

This thriller will keep you on your toes and is a great alternative for those looking for a book like Truly Devious.

Have you already read this novel? Check out our list of books like Verity!

Sadie, by Courtney Summers

Alone and raising her younger sister, Mattie, in a small town, Sadie just tries to get by – day by day. That is until Mattie is found dead.

Sadie is determined to bring the killer to justice, especially when the police don’t seem to care all that much so she leaves on a perilous journey.

Across the country, radio host West McCray hears Sadie’s story and begins a podcast about the missing girl hoping to find her before it is too late for the elder sister.

A riveting book that you won’t be able to put down, add Sadie to your to-be-read list for a book like Truly Devious.

The Cheerleaders, by Kara Thomas

The Cheerleaders is a fast-paced and compelling mystery and is the perfect read for those with a Truly Devious-sized hole in their hearts!

Five years ago, the Sunnybrook High cheer squad was disbanded for lack of members after all have died in tragic circumstances. Two died in a car crash, two were murdered by a psychotic neighbour and the last, Jenn, committed suicide after dealing with survivor’s guilt.

Jenn’s sister, Monica, is asked to participate in a memorial service but it is the last thing she wants to do. Monica knows Jenn would never kill herself so she begins to look for clues as to what happened all those years ago.

Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher

In Thirteen Reasons Why, Clay Jensen finds a package on his doorstep with his name written on it. Upon opening, he finds several cassette tapes which detail the thirteen reasons why Hannah Baker committed suicide two weeks ago.

Recorded by Hannah herself, she talks through the reasons she chose to end her life – Clay being one of them. To find out why, he has to keep listening.

Taken on a journey through their small town, Clay finds out the truth behind Hannah’s pain and how his classmates are all intertwined in this shocking death as well.

A sad and poignant mystery, this book like Truly Devious will have readers unable to put down their book.

Have you already read this novel? Check out our list of books like Thirteen Reasons Why.

Monday’s Not Coming, by Tiffany D. Jackson

In Monday’s Not Coming, Claudia and Monday are more like sisters than they are best friends. They know each other inside and out so when Monday doesn’t turn up to school on their first day back, Claudia knows something is wrong.

By the second week of no-shows, Claudia is surer than ever that something strange is afoot and is determined to figure out why her best friend has disappeared.

However, both Monday’s mother and sister refuse to give her any straight answers and with some digging, finds that no one seems to remember the last time they saw Monday.

Somehow, Monday has vanished but no one seems to have noticed. A heavy and emotional mystery thriller, this book will satisfy your need for a book similar to Truly Devious.

The List, by Carys Jones

In The List, Beth Belmont is a runner. She runs every day on the same trail and knows every turn and every rock and every tree. So, when she sees a slip of white paper, something in her tells her to pick it up.

On the paper is a list of five names, the third of which is her own. The unease of seeing her own name on paper leads Beth to search the other names only to find the first two are dead.

Worrying she may be the next target on the list, Beth finds herself following a dark and dangerous path towards the truth. This is a great thriller book like Truly Devious to satisfy your book cravings!

If you have already read Truly Devious and love mysterious thriller books that keep you hooked onto every word then look no further than this list. Hopefully one of these ten books like Truly Devious will be your next great read.

Are you searching for more books similar to Truly Devious? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!

Charlotte is a writer for Books Like This One, a website helping you find more books to read! She loves reading young adult, romance, sci-fi, thrillers and women’s fiction.

Leave a Comment