8 Romantic Books Like The Kiss Quotient


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we make a small commission at no extra cost to you.


Books like The Kiss Quotient prove that love is not predictable nor can it be relied on to follow scientific data. This novel by Helen Hoang was inspired by the author’s experience when she was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder – previously known as Asperger’s Syndrome – in 2016.

The main character in The Kiss Quotient is Stella Lane: a woman with Asperger’s who is mad about maths and has a successful career predicting customer purchases with an algorithm she devised. Unfortunately, maths cannot replace a relationship and Stella thinks the only way she could possibly be successful in love is to find a professional to teach her how.

She hires male escort Michael Phan to teach her about love and lovemaking so she can have a better chance of finding someone to spend her life with. At the moment, even the thought of French kissing turns her stomach.

Michael cannot afford to turn down this bizarre offer so he gets to work checking off her list from foreplay to favourite positions.

This non-emotional relationship changes over time as Michaels’s patience and gentle lovemaking has Stella craving for more.

This is on the steamier side of the romance scale but you are looking for more books like The Kiss Quotient then look no further.

8 Books like The Kiss Quotient

The Right Swipe, by Alisha Rai

This steamy summer book similar to The Kiss Quotient is the first in Alisha Rai’s Modern Love series.

Rhiannon Hunter is an overachieving cynical dating app creator who has a no-nonsense approach to love. She protects her heart at all costs.

Samson Lima is an ex-football player who has one amazing night with Rhi and then disappears.

Months later, when Samson is back and working for a rival dating app, he wants to try again with Rhi but she’s not sure if she can trust him after he ghosted her.

Workplace bullying and sexual harassment are themes running through the book but never overtake the main story, which is character-lead. So, if you want a kick-ass protagonist as the centre of your summer read, give The Right Swipe a try.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Meet Cute, by Helena Hunting

If you haven’t watched The Holiday you may not know what a ‘meet cute’ is. It’s the special way a couple meet. Not drunk off your face in a nightclub but something special like this book similar to The Kiss Quotient.

On her first day at law school, Kailyn literally bumps into Daxton Hughes who plays her favourite character in a TV show. Although mortified when she finds out that he is in her class, they become friends until he betrays her.

Eight years later, he comes to Kailyn for help: he has just become legal guardian to his younger sister and she has to put aside her anger to help him.

When her boss finds out that she has a celebrity client, she has the opportunity to be promoted to partner; if she can get Dax to work for their firm. 

Kailyn spends time with Dax and his thirteen-year-old sister and has to decide if the feelings she still has for him are enough to forgive him and maybe lose her chance at progressing her career. If you can’t wait to find out if they become a family, grab a copy of Meet Cute.

I’ve Got Your Number, by Sophie Kinsella

I’ve Got Your Number has all the classic Kinsella components: humour and romance mixed with all those crisis situations many of us have found ourselves in – especially after a few drinks with the girls!

Poppy loses her engagement ring (a family heirloom) and her phone after a few glasses of bubbly with her friends. Her in-laws are due to arrive and she’s panicking but her heart calms a little when she spots a phone in a bin.

Unfortunately for Poppy, the owner of the phone, Sam Roxton, is a businessman who doesn’t take kindly to her poking her nose into his private messages.

Chaos and confusion follows as Poppy, along with her friends and family, attempt to help Sam against his wishes whilst attempting to get her own life back to some semblance of normality. 

If you enjoyed The Kiss Quotient, then pop this one on your wishlist.

Wedding Date, by Jasmine Guillory       

This fun romance like The Kiss Quotient is the author’s debut novel.

Drew Nichols is a hard-to-resist paediatric surgeon who needs a plus one for his ex-girlfriend’s wedding to his best friend. He meets Alexa in a lift during a blackout and convinces her to be his date.

The wedding is more fun than they thought but drew has to fly back to his job in LA and Alexa goes home to Berkeley and her position as chief of staff to the mayor.

Both can’t stop thinking about each other and want to try the whole long distance thing but neither is sure if it will work. Can they make it work?

If you’re desperately seeking more romance novels like The Kiss Quotient then don’t wait too long to try Wedding Date.

Anna and the French Kiss, by Stephanie Perkins

Usually, Anna Oliphant is funny and passionate and a little awkward but she’s now stuck in a boarding school in Paris for her senior year at school after being torn away from her friends and a potential romance.

She doesn’t speak French and what she really wants to do is stamp her feet in frustration and go back to Atlanta – until she meets the charming Etienne St Clair who has everything – including a girlfriend.

They form a friendship and that’s the way it has to stay as Etienne is not available for anything more. There are missed opportunities and misunderstandings but will Anna get her much-awaited French kiss?

For a wild ride of emotions in novels like The Kiss Quotient and a trip to Paris in your imagination, download or buy Anna and the French Kiss.

Have you already read this charming romance? Check out our list of books like Anna and the French Kiss!

If I Loved You Less, by Tamsen Parker

Moving away from her usual ‘erotica’ novel, Tamsen Parker has kept this book like The Kiss Quotient more about the romance.

Theodosia Sullivan has no desire to marry but is a natural matchmaker for everyone she meets and she’s in the perfect setting for love: Hanalei Bay on the Hawaiian island, Kauai. She manages her family’s surf shop and is happy to interfere in the lives of the locals and tourists alike.

Equally happy being single is the local baker Kini ʻŌpūnui but Theo can’t help her matchmaking and when she ignores Kini’s warnings regarding her meddling, it takes a hazardous turn.

Theo has to face up to the fact that she is in love with Kini but it may be too late.

For those fans of the classic tale Emma from Jane Austen, If I Loved You Less will be one to put on your reading list.

Vision in White, by Nora Roberts

This is the first in The Bride Quartet about four friends who run a wedding planning business. This book is centred on Mackensie (Mac) Elliot. She is the photographer for the business and has had it rough growing up which has left her vulnerable and afraid of putting her heart out there to be trodden on.

Our male lead in this romance is Carter Maguire a former geek at school who had a crush on Mac but never had the guts to tell her. 

It is now years later and Carter’s back in her life and ready to reveal his feelings; if he can get rid of his persistent ex-girlfriend!

In between the beautifully written friendship between the four women there is all the romance, and of course a little heartache, you could want from the queen of romance writing.

So, if you enjoy books like The Kiss Quotient and are seeking more romance in your life I suggest you grab a copy of Vision in White.

Get a Life, Chloe Brown, by Talia Hibbert

Lastly on my list of books like The Kiss Quotient, I give you Get a Life, Chloe Brown; this is first in The Brown Sisters series.

Like our main character in The Kiss Quotient, Chloe Brown is a computer nerd with a disability: she has a chronic illness and after a close call with death, she decides to make a kind of bucket list to help her get a life. She wants to get drunk, ride a motorcycle, and have meaningless sex but she’s not really sure where to start. She needs someone who can teach her how to be bad.

This is where Redford (Red) Morgan comes in – he’s a sexy, tattoo-ridden handyman and artist who paints at night but never shows his work. Chloe knows this as she watches him occasionally.

Chloe moves out of the family’s mansion and Red decides to help her with her list. They both end up discovering so much more than they ever thought they wanted to know.

This novel similar to The Kiss Quotient is romantic, sexy and funny, and definitely worth finding space for on your shelf or e-reader.

That concludes my list of suggestions for those seeking books like The Kiss Quotient. A range of books from various authors that all write extremely well about our favourite subject: Romance.

Are you looking for more books like The Kiss Quotient? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!

Wendy Ogilvie

Wendy is a writer for Books Like This One, a website helping you find more books to read! She loves reading mystery, crime and women's fiction.

Leave a Comment