10 Fun Books Like The Upside of Falling


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we make a small commission at no extra cost to you. For more information, see our privacy policy.


Are you looking for more books like The Upside of Falling?

Falling in love can be tumultuous – a journey with both highs and lows. In The Upside of Falling, we meet Becca Hart. Becca is unlucky in love, something that her former best friend decides to tease her about in front of their whole school.

Embarrassed and panicked, Becca announces that she actually has a secret boyfriend. Now, everyone is waiting for him to show up.

Brett Wells is the ‘it’ boy: captain of the football team, popular, flirt. But somehow, he doesn’t have a date for prom. More concerned with his future than a stupid high school dance, Brett overhears Becca’s lie and thinks it is the perfect situation for them both: fake dating.

Becca has a date for prom and can prove her bullies wrong and Brett’s teammates can stop teasing him about bringing a date. As their lives begin to fall apart, a real bond starts to grow and soon, they aren’t faking their feelings anymore.

If you have already read this endearing and uplifting story of ‘meant to be’ then you are probably looking for more books like The Upside of Falling. Look no further than this list I’ve compiled for your next read!

10 Books like The Upside of Falling

Not the Girl You Marry, by Andie J Christopher

Jack Nolan is a journalist who has been left to write boring how-to articles instead of the juicy politics he’d like to report on. Jack also can’t seem to get a girl. So, making a deal with his boss, Jack writes his last article: How to Lose a Girl.

But then he meets Hannah Mayfield and the idea of her dumping him is, well, awful.

Hannah is an event planner who has a one-track mind focused on her successful career. However, her boss wants her to widen her range of events including romantic weddings. Dating Jack is the perfect way to prove to her boss that she can deal with romance. However, soon their relationship seems all too real and the pair begin to fall for each other.

Another fake relationship trope full of banter and wit, add Not the Girl You Marry to your TBR if you want a book similar to The Upside of Falling.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, by Jenny Han

Lara Jean wrote handwritten letters to her three crushes, keeping them hidden in a box under her bed. Somehow, these letters go missing and somehow, they got mailed to all the boys.

Now, Lara Jean has to face her first kiss, the boy she fancied in summer camp and her older sister’s ex. Now, navigating her romantic and familiar relationships is ten times harder than before.

Now in a fake dating situation, all Lara Jean has to do is not fall in love, which will be difficult for someone who falls in love all too easily.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is now a sensational Netflix film series and is the perfect book like The Upside of Falling.

Have you already read this novel? Check out our list of books like To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before!

The Dating Dare, by Jayci Lee

In The Dating Dare, Tara Park doesn’t ‘do’ relationships. Then comes along her best friend’s new brother-in-law, Seth Kim and a game of truth or dare leads to a four-date arrangement between the pair.

However, there is an issue. In a month, Seth is leaving for Paris so they decide on a ‘no strings attached’ type of situationship. Soon, Seth realizes Tara is everything he wants in a woman and soon, he finds himself falling for her. But neither of them is ready for a serious relationship but their feelings are telling them otherwise.

An uplifting tale of romance and hope, this book like The Upside of Falling has all the elements you’ll love in a rom-com.

Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating, by Adiba Jaigirdar

Fake dating is a huge trope within contemporary romance and Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating is no different. For a book like The Upside of Falling, why not try this one?

Hani is the popular girl at school, who has only ever dated guys. When she comes out to her friends as bisexual, they invalidate her as she has never dated a girl before.

Hani panics and tells them she is dating Ishu, an academic overachiever, who her friends all despise. Ishu agrees to keep up the charade in exchange for popularity and a chance at being elected head girl.

But the charade soon blurs in with reality and a real happy ending may be upon the horizon. 

No, We Can’t Be Friends, by Sophie Ranald

In this funny and relatable book about moving on after a relationship, we meet Sloane. Sloane has always been the single friend but that was until she met perfect Myles.

But, her life with Myles takes a downwards spiral as she ends up doing his share of the chores. Then Sloane finds out Myles has a secret and soon she’s drowning her sorrows in ice cream and pizza.

Learning to love yourself is a harder journey than learning to love someone else but Sloane is on a journey of self-discovery.

For a book similar to The Upside of Falling with themes of self-love, recovery and friendship, pick No, We Can’t Be Friends up next.

Counting Down with You, by Tashie Bhuiyan

Karina Ahmed just wants to get through high school without any drama. When her parents go on holiday for four weeks, she thinks she’ll finally have some peace and quiet. Until the bad boy of the school spreads the rumour that the pair are dating.

Tutoring Ace Clyde was meant to help her academic life, not her romantic life. Counting down the days until her parents come home and the façade stops, Karina wants everything to go back to normal.

But spending time with Ace, he seems to do everything right and soon Karina isn’t sure normal is what she wants anymore.

Pick up Counting Down with You for your next read similar to The Upside of Falling.

Boyfriend Material, by Alexis Hall

Boyfriend Material is perfect for those looking for books like The Upside of Falling.

Luc O’Donnell has always been in the limelight since he was born to two famous, rockstar parents. When he was young, they split and his dad was shipped away to rehab for his addictions so he’s never met the man who has thrown him into fame.

Now, Luc is thrown back into the public eye as his dad is making a big comeback. Luc gets caught out by the paparazzi and the single compromising photo is enough for him to need to clean up his image.

So, Luc finds Oliver Blackwood, a normal and nice guy.

Realizing they have little in common, the two make a deal to become fake boyfriends for the cameras. But fiction and fact can sometimes blur and soon, feelings begin to emerge.

Take a Hint, Dani Brown, by Talia Hibbert

Dani Brown is over romance. All she wants is a best friend who is also great in the sheets. The closest she wants to a boyfriend is friends-with-benefits.

So, when security guard Zafir Ansari rescues her from a fire drill gone wrong, she knows instantly that this is the next guy she wants in her bed. However, a video of the rescue goes viral and everyone on the internet is shipping the pair.

Zafir approaches Dani asking to play along as his sports charity could use the publicity. Now, Dani needs to keep up appearances whilst trying to seduce Zafir.

Pick up Take a Hint, Dani Brown for your next book like The Upside of Falling.

The Cheat Sheet, by Sarah Adams

Bree Camden is Nathan Donelson’s best friend. Nathan Donelson as in star quarterback, huge flirt and star of the tabloids. Bree is also secretly in love with him and finds herself having to fake date Nathan for three weeks after accidentally spilling the beans to a reporter over too many drinks.

With all the newspapers thinking Bree and Nathan belong together, it is hard to keep things platonic when they have to act like a couple. Bree isn’t sure how she’s going to cope after these three weeks are over and if things will ever be the same again.

If you love the fake dating a football star aspect of The Upside of Falling, then you will love The Cheat Sheet.

A Not So Meet Cute, by Meghan Quinn

Full of fun and lighthearted wit, pick up A Not So Meet Cute for your next book like The Upside of Falling.

Lottie’s life is a mess, she was just fired so she has no way to pay her crippling student debt and her love life is non-existent. Wandering around a rich neighbourhood hoping to meet a man to marry, Lottie actually bumps into Huxley Cane.

Huxley dumps all of his problems onto Lottie, then realizes she could be the answer to his problems… by pretending to be engaged and live together in a mansion.

There is only one problem. Lottie thinks she is falling for this guy.

Books like The Upside of Falling show the highs and lows of falling in love and the obstacles people must face in the hunt for happiness. The books I have mentioned follow characters who not only find love with others but within themselves.

Are you looking for more books similar to The Upside of Falling? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!

Charlotte is a writer for Books Like This One, a website helping you find more books to read! She loves reading young adult, romance, sci-fi, thrillers and women’s fiction.

Leave a Comment