10 Charming Books Like The Cheat Sheet


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we may make a small commission. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. For more information, see our privacy policy.


When we read books like The Cheat Sheet, we are often swept away into a luscious romance where friends learn to love one another, and the first kisses are against a sunlit skyline. This novel is no different and you’ll be swooning by the last pages.

Bree Camden is the best friend of star quarterback and tabloid regular, Nathan Donelson. Bree has never considered Nathan – a huge flirt – to reciprocate her hidden romantic feelings she has for him. That is until she accidentally spills the beans to a reporter after one too many drinks.

Now, not only does Nathan himself know about her secret crush but so does the entire world! Things begin to snowball and soon the pair find themselves fake dating. Bree’s trying hard to not let Nathan’s acting get to her too much but soon, she isn’t sure whether Nathan wants them to go back to a platonic relationship after all.

The Cheat Sheet is a thrillingly cute read but if you have already read it, then you might be looking for others like it.

10 Books like The Cheat Sheet

Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating, by Adiba Jaigirdar

Much like The Cheat Sheet, this novel includes a popular – for good reason, too! — trope known as fake dating!

Hani is the so-called queen bee of her school but when she comes out as bisexual, her friends are quick to invalidate her using her strictly male dating past to counter her claim. Panicked and feeling as if she must prove herself, she tells them she is dating a girl called Ishu.

Ishu is a girl who all her friends despise and is the classic academic overachiever of her year. However, Ishu agrees to keep up Hani’s façade in exchange for popularity and therefore, a chance of being elected as their head girl.

As the pair spend more time together, a real happy ending on the horizon looks increasingly possible.

Pick up Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating for a cute, queer romance book similar to The Cheat Sheet.

The American Roommate Experiment, by Elena Armas

The American Roommate Experiment is set in the same world as Armas’ other romance novel, The Spanish Love Deception, however, can easily be read as a standalone romance.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Rosie has always wanted to be a full-time romance writer, so she quits her day job to pursue her dream. But now, she is stuck in a crumbling apartment with crippling writer’s block and in much need of a change of scenery.

Her cousin, Carolina, has a free apartment whilst she is out of town and with a spare key, Rosie takes her chance.

However, she is surprised to find Carolina’s cousin, Lucas, upon arrival. Lucas even invites Rosie on a few dates in hopes of inspiring her writing but now, Rosie is forced to keep her silly crush on Lucas under wraps.

Lucas is leaving New York soon so it isn’t worth chasing, but the tension is rising and together in Carolina’s flat, something is bound to happen.

Love on the Brain, by Ali Hazelwood

Bee Königswasser’s dreams come true when NASA offers her the lead on a neuro engineering project. However, things are always too good to be true and that comes in the form of Levi Ward being her co-leader on the project.

Levi and Bee were archnemesis in grad school and knew to stay far from one another but now, there is no escaping each other’s presence. But when Bee’s equipment starts to go missing and staff members ignore her, it seems the only ally she has is Levi himself.

The connection between Bee and Levi continues to grow and now, Bee isn’t sure what to do. Could her grad school archnemesis truly be her happy ending?

Love on the Brain is a wonderful romance novel about women in STEM that is perfect for fans The Cheat Sheet.

The Dating Plan, by Sara Desai

Much like The Cheat Sheet, we get another great fake dating plot in The Dating Plan! However, this time the stakes are high as Daisy Patel asks her childhood crush to be her fake fiancée.

Daisy’s family have been waiting for a marriage announcement for years and her partner in crime, Liam Murphy realizes he must be married in order to receive his late grandfather’s inheritance according to the will.

This fake engagement seems great on paper but when the two go on a few dates to legitimatize their fake love, they realize that it isn’t as convenient as they first thought.

Fix Her Up, by Tessa Bailey

In Fix Her Up, Georgie’s family is occupied with their renounced home renovation company. A company that Georgie isn’t quite interested in – the children’s party business is more up her street.

She has a feeling that everyone is profoundly disappointed in her which kickstarts Georgie into action. In an attempt to give her family something else to focus on, she asks her best friend’s brother, ex-sports star Travis, to be her fake date.

After an injury knocked Travis out of the sports game, he buys houses instead and lives a much quieter life.

He accepts Georgie’s strange but interesting offer and soon the pair are spending a lot of time together and Travis begins to realize Georgie isn’t the little girl he remembers from their childhood anymore.

Book Lovers, by Emily Henry

The universe is cruel in many small ways. Like how Nora is one of the best literary agents who gets to read fresh romance novels one after the other without ever getting a chance at love herself.

Nora agrees to take a trip away with her sister to Sunshine Falls where she can relax and forget about her stressful 9-5. This all changes when she sees Charlie Lastra, a brooding editor from the city who Nora neither likes nor wants to interact with.

But after being thrown together time after time, maybe Nora needs to look past his moody façade and see the man underneath, just like all the heroines in the books she reads.

An original and heartwarming novel about finding love, Book Lovers is the perfect book similar to The Cheat Sheet for someone looking for their next read.

Hook, Line and Sinker, by Tessa Bailey

In this book, fisherman Fox Thornton is an outright flirt, known for being a ladies’ man. Hannah Bellinger is immune to his charm and insists the pair should be platonic pals.

Hannah’s in town for work and Fox lets her crash in his spare bedroom and even gives her some tips on how to flirt with a co-worker she fancies. However, the more time she spends with Fox, the more she realizes she wants Fox instead.

But she refuses to be just another notch on his belt. For Fox, helping Hannah flirt with another guy is torture when all he wants to do is kiss her senselessly.

Can the pair figure out their feelings? Pick up Hook, Line and Sinker to find out!

Icebreaker, by Hannah Grace

Anastasia Allen is a competitive ice skater whose dream of being on Team USA is getting closer by the minute. With a full college scholarship thanks to her place on the Maple Hills skating team, things are looking up.

Nathan Hawkins is the team captain of the Maple Hills Titans who meets Anastasia when a misunderstanding means sharing the rink. When an accident occurs and Anastasia’s partner is injured, Nathan must swap his hockey stick for tights in this cute, contemporary romance!

Icebreaker is a great book like The Cheat Sheet which is full of pure romance and spice!

Already read this novel? Check out our list of more books like Icebreaker!

The Switch, by Beth O’Leary

Leena Cotton is forced to take a two-month long sabbatical after blowing a major presentation at her workplace. Running to her grandmother’s small home for a long-overdue rest, she finds her grandmother, Eileen, desperate to escape her tiny Yorkshire village to look for love in the big city.

Swapping homes for the two months, the pair battle with their new neighbours and new love interests whilst being away from the comfort of their homes.

A sweet and heartwarming novel, The Switch is a must-read for those looking for their next read after The Cheat Sheet.

The Love Wager, by Lynn Painter

Deciding her time of flings is over, after one particular night of crawling out of a hotel room, Hallie Piper decides it’s time to start anew as a fully grown adult.

However, when she opens the dating app, the guy whose hotel room she left, Jack, pops up.

In an agreement that they are not interested in one another, they decide to help find each other ‘The One’. Scheduling dates at the same restaurant in case of disaster, they find themselves still single date after date.

So, the pair make a wager on who can find love first. But when they agree to fake date for a wedding, all bets are off and they soon forget why they decided a platonic relationship was it for them.

A fake dating wonder, The Love Wager is the perfect book to read once you’re done with The Cheat Sheet!

These books like The Cheat Sheet will have readers swooning and weeping with joy! I hope you found your next five-star read on this list.

Are you looking for more books to read after The Cheat Sheet? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!
Avatar photo

Charlotte is a writer for Books Like This One. She studied drama and writing for performance and enjoys reading romance, literary fiction and young adult novels. Some of her favourite authors include Donna Tartt and Leigh Bardugo. Read more from Charlotte

Leave a Comment