10 Inspiring Books Like Untamed


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we make a small commission at no extra cost to you. For more information, see our privacy policy.


Books like Untamed will empower you and encourage you to trust yourself.

Glennon Doyle recounts different moments in her life that have led to where she is today. While she’s a mother, she believes it’s okay to live for her own personal happiness to show her kids they should also be kind to themselves.

Life is not meant to be perfect and there’s no problem with making mistakes but making sure you stay true to yourself is a must. The following list of books similar to Untamed will inspire you to dream big and never give up.

10 Books like Untamed

Becoming, by Michelle Obama

Similar to books like Untamed, Becoming is inspirational and lets the reader peek inside the life of one of the most influential women in the world.

Michelle Obama was not only the First Lady of the United States of America, she was the first African American to hold that title. She worked on improving children’s health and nutrition, as well as empowering women.

In the book, Michelle gives some background into her early life as well as more recent years. Before becoming the iconic woman she is, she had to fight hard for everything she wanted, whether it was in school or professionally.

Her story is proof that women are strong enough to accomplish anything they set their minds to.

American Dirt, by Jeanine Cummins

The story of American Dirt is both nerve-racking and heartfelt. It follows a Mexican mother, Lydia, who is forced to leave her life in Acapulco with her son Luca after the cartel has killed her whole family. We learn why her family was targeted and what they must do to survive. 

Lydia and Luca have to make the long journey from their hometown to the American border in hopes of getting a smuggler to help them enter the US illegally. The two must face many obstacles but if they overcome them they can reach safety.

Like books similar to Untamed, Lydia shows the strength of not only a mother but a woman.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Maybe You Should Talk to Someone, by Lori Gottlieb

Most people might assume that therapists have their life all figured out. However, in Maybe You Should Talk to Someone, Lori will tell you why that’s not true and why she, as a therapist, needs her own therapist.

She explains why it’s always good to talk to someone no matter whether you need help dealing with trauma or just need someone who listens.

Lori discusses some of the issues her patients are going through and how she relates to them after having gone through her own trauma.

Like Untamed, this book will encourage you to take charge of your life and gives you a unique perspective from a therapist.

The Moment of Lift, by Melinda French Gates

In The Moment of Lift, Melinda Gates describes her experience in meeting the poorest of the poor and the impact of lifting women up.

She talks about the journey she went through with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation while sharing personal stories about her own life.

Similar to books like Untamed, this book proves why investing in women is so important. Many of the stories will pull on your heartstrings but it helps to give you perspective. For every heartbreaking story, you will get a moment of lift.

Bad Feminist, by Roxane Gay

Bad Feminist centres around the idea that there’s only one way to be a feminist but in reality, there isn’t a right or wrong way. The author writes essays about her life as a woman of colour and about her own way of being a “bad” feminist.

While some essays may be specific to Gay, others are very relatable. After reading this book, you will have a better understanding of where feminism is now and how to continue improving its state.

You will also have a better understanding of yourself, along with confirmation that you can still love pink and be a feminist.

We Should All Be Feminists, by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

The essay We Should All Be Feminists from Adichie’s popular TEDx talk defines what it is to be a feminist in today’s age. She doesn’t just focus on feminism in the United States but also her home country Nigeria and other places around the world.

Similar to books like Untamed, the author writes in an entertaining but clever tone. She discusses big issues that continue to divide genders and explains why they are harmful to both sexes.

If you’re not already, the essays will have you questioning why you’re late to the feminism train.

Three Women, by Lisa Taddeo

With a similar theme to books like Untamed, Three Women is further proof that there’s no right or wrong way to be female.

In the book, we get to learn about three women, Lina, Maggie and Sloane, who are dealing with different issues and we see how they try to overcome them.

The women are far from perfect and they all struggle with their roles as women and with figuring out who they are. You will learn to embrace all the messiness and to remember you’re not alone.

The Testaments, by Margaret Atwood

The sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, The Testaments takes us 15 years after the end of the first book.

While we get some closure on what happened to Offred, the main handmaid from the first book, we also get the stories of three other important women who are connected in ending the cruelties in Gilead, the former US and setting of the book.

Through the different characters, we get to see the power and brilliance of women, especially in a place that wants to keep them down. We see the things each character has to go through to get the country to a better place.

The Princess Saves Herself in This One, by Amanda Lovelace

We’ve all read the magical fairytales that make you dream of your prince charming. In The Princess Saves Herself in This One, we learn that you can be your own hero. This aspect of saving and loving yourself is reflected in Untamed.

The poems give you a look into the author’s life that was filled with pain and disappointments as well as healing and empowerment. There’s an emphasis on taking charge of your life and realising you are worthy of your own fairytale.

City of Girls, by Elizabeth Gilbert

City of Girls is set in New York City, starting in the 1940s, and centres around the journey to womanhood of the main character Vivian. Like books similar to Untamed, we see that feminism comes in all shapes and sizes.

Vivian grew up in a strict household where certain things were expected of her but she quickly realises there’s more to life than being who her parents want her to be.

She is unapologetic, finds her freedom in New York while falling in love with the city and discovers her sexuality.

These books like Untamed each celebrate the beauty and chaos of being a woman. If you are looking for inspiration, motivation or empowerment then reading the books on this list is a great place to start.

Are you searching for a few more books similar to Untamed? Have any recommendations that didn’t make the list? Let us know in the comments!

Like It? Pin It!

Paola is a writer for Books Like This One, a website helping you find more books to read! She loves reading fiction, non-fiction and classic novels.

Leave a Comment