8 Enjoyable Books Like The Devil Wears Prada


Disclaimer: This article contains affiliate links. That means if you click a link and make a purchase, we make a small commission at no extra cost to you.


If you are looking for more books like The Devil Wears Prada, then the obvious choice would be to seek out other titles by the same author — in this case, Lauren Weisberger. The Devil Wears Prada is her debut novel.

The story sees our main character, serious journalist Andrea Sachs, out of her fashion depth when she begins working for ‘Runway’ magazine. Her job is demanding, as is her boss, Miranda Priestly, but despite a rocky start, she emerges with her boss’s respect and her principles intact.

Twentieth Century Fox actually bought the rights to the film adaptation before the book was even finished; casting the incredible Meryl Streep as Miranda Priestly.

If you want to read something within a similar vein but with a different authorial voice, then here are a couple of recommendations with The Devil Wears Prada vibe for you.

8 Books like The Devil Wears Prada

Elegance, by Kathleen Tessaro

If the fashion is why you enjoy books like The Devil Wears Prada, then Elegance, by Kathleen Tessaro is worth making space on your e-reader or shelf for.

Elegance was also first published in 2003 and is about a woman whose life is out of control until she finds a vintage book in a second-hand shop entitled ‘Elegance’. This A-Z of style is the catalyst for her transformation. Her style guru within the book, Madam Dariaux, imparts her anachronistic advice changing the life and look of the dowdy, Louise Canova. It has been said: ‘Tessaro writes a light-hearted contemporary version of Pygmalion.’

Elegance is an excellent choice for those who adore vintage clothing and style makeovers.

books like the devil wears prada

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic, by Sophie Kinsella

For all those who enjoy a little retail therapy, steer your Monolos towards the ‘Shopaholic’ series. The first in the series originally called The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic was also published as Confessions of a Shopaholic in 2001. There are ten books in the series; each one following our shopaholic, Rebecca Bloomwood, through the various events in her life – and how she shops for them!

Confessions of a Shopaholic was also adapted for film in 2009 with Isla Fisher as the shopaholic journalist, and Hugh Dancy as her boss. Although the film received mixed reviews, for anyone looking for books like The Devil Wears Prada, this one is definitely for you.

books like the devil wears prada

Confessions of a Fashionista, by Angela Clarke

This is a book written by Daily Mail columnist Angela Clarke, whose original job in the fashion industry was thwarted by being diagnosed with a rare multi-systemic condition called Ehlers Danlos III. No longer able to wear fashionable heels and attend parties, she decided to put all her experiences in the fashion world into her writing. If you liked The Devil Wears Prada, you’ll love Confessions of a Fashionista.

Want a change from paper books? - Get a 30-Day Free Trial of Audible to try out audio books or try out Kindle Unlimited so you can download unlimited ebooks!

Following on the fashion theme, Confessions of a Fashionista sees our heroine land a much sought-after place on the Harrods Graduate Scheme. Her boyfriend has dumped her and she’s living with her parents. The world she has entered is a kaleidoscope of sky-high heels, huge egos, dogs that fly business class, and women who sniff cake for pleasure rather than eating it!

So, if you’re looking for books similar to A Devil Wears Prada, this could be your next purchase. It certainly opened my eyes about the fashion world!

The Secret Lives of Dresses, by Erin McKean

When thinking of extending your collections of books like The Devil Wears Prada, then give The Secret Lives of Dresses a read. This is another one for those of you folk who like their fashion vintage. More of a bittersweet story with humour than a laugh-out-loud read, this is a tale about Dora who is in love with a man who barely notices her.

The story is set in South Carolina, Dora’s home state, where she returns to run her grandmother’s vintage clothing store. She discovers that her grandmother, Mimi, writes stories to accompany her dresses; stories about the life they had before arriving at her shop.

If you enjoy a coming-of-age story and believe in the magic the right dress can create, then The Secret Lives of Dresses is one for you.

books like the devil wears prada

The Assistants, by Camille Perri

Hailed as the next Devil Wears Prada, The Assistants, by Camille Perri should certainly make the list. As we all know, behind every successful man is a woman; our main character, Tina Fontana, is an executive assistant to the billionaire CEO of Titan Corporation. She spends her days booking restaurants she’ll never eat in and plane seats to places she’ll never see.

Tired of being overworked and underpaid, a technical error presents her with a moral dilemma. The tag line of the book is ‘What would you do if you thought you’d get away with it?’ and will have you asking yourself what you would do in the same situation.

This is a book similar to The Devil Wears Prada but more for those unappreciated assistants among you.

Prada and Prejudice (Dating Mr Darcy), by Katie Oliver

This is the first in a three-book series loosely based around Jane Austen novels.

Natalie Dashwood is the envy of every fashion-conscience woman on the planet: she is the heir to Dashwood & James, a London department store. Although her regular shopping sprees are put on hold as the family business is in serious financial crisis.

Help arrives in the form of business executive, Rhys Gordon, (who was apparently modelled on Gordon Ramsey) and gives Ms Dashwood something else to focus on.

The storyline and the characters don’t parallel Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice as much as the title may suggest but Katie Oliver writes in a voice similar to Sophie Kinsella, so if you loved the Shopaholic series you may want to give Prada and Prejudice a read.

Hedge Fund Wives, by Tatiana Boncompagni

Tatiana Boncompagni is one of New York’s elite. She writes articles on fashion, beauty, shopping and social trends for publications like Vogue and The Wall Street Journal. Apparently, her list of friends and acquaintances includes many of the wealthiest hedge funders and their wives, giving her a unique insight into the world she has created in her novel. 

Hedge Fund Wives follows our main character, Marcy Emerson, through her move to New York with her hedge-fund-manager husband. She has to navigate through the corporate jungle of backstabbing socialites and a world of obscene wealth. Eventually, her husband’s preoccupation with money has her re-evaluating her priorities and when he leaves her for his mistress, she has to learn to fight for herself.

Although this is a rags-to-riches tale, the moral of the story is ‘Money doesn’t equal a happy life’.

Hedge Fund Wives is similar to The Devil Wears Prada not only in that it is set in amongst New York’s high-flyers but because our main character manages to emerge with her principals intact.

books like the devil wears prada

The Stylist, by Rosie Nixon

Hailed by RED magazine as ‘Bridget Jones meets The Devil Wears Prada!’ The Stylist is one of our selected books like The Devil Wears Prada and is the first in the Amber Green series. This is another book by a magazine editor using her experiences in the fashion world for the plot of a romantic romp.

The story sees the fashion boutique worker styling the hottest stars in Hollywood. Although her career begins because of an error, she intends to make the most it. There are the obligatory mishaps, crazy Hollywood characters, and plenty of fashion; although if you’re expecting to hear about the life of a stylist, you may be disappointed.

This book is one to read when the most glamour in your own life has been reduced to you staring longingly at your one pair of Prada heels in your cupboard before slipping on your Ugg boots!

So there you have it, 8 enjoyable books like The Devil Wears Prada by talented authors (trust me, writing humour is an acquired skill), ready to step in and boost your happy hormones. They include all your favourite subjects: shopping, glamour, romance and laughing ‘til snot comes out your nose!

Are you looking for more books like The Devil Wears Prada? Do you have any additions that didn’t make the list? Leave a comment and let us know!

Like It? Pin It!

Wendy Ogilvie

Wendy is a writer for Books Like This One, a website helping you find more books to read! She loves reading mystery, crime and women's fiction.

Leave a Comment